The Day the Earth Stood Still and We Should Have Shot Keanu Reeves in the Head


Evan Matthew Klinger's Facebook profile

So, being the hipster that I am, I saw “The Day the Earth Stood Still” (the remake) on the big screen 3 days before it came out anywhere in the world. I figured out that the Thai theaters get the movie and don’t wait until the actual release date to show it. They just throw it up there as soon as they receive the print. Works for me.

What didn’t work for me was the Crap Fiesta that is this flick. This is Keanu Reeves’ “Soldier” where he gets $34,232 per word that he says.

The movie is horrible. The casting is horrible. They put a little boy in the movie from the TV show “Heroes” because on the show, the boy can control machines and that fits nicely with Keanu being able to control machines. They have also put Jon Hamm, from Mad Men, in the film and they did everything they could to make him look old and haggly like a scientist should. Not! This movie had one beefcake (since Keanu is an unlikeable alien) and they keep him unshaven the whole film.

So, I paid $2 for it, but still, if I had the option, I would scream at the theater manager: “I want my $2!”

http://images.rottentomatoes.com/files/flash/video/ev_rt.swf

Leave a Reply

